Liming in Fubine


Buonasera!

I’m going to resist the urge to start this post with “wow”.  I had it typed and then felt deja vu and decided maybe I start too many posts with “wow”.  If anyone has a synonym, please share.  I’ve searched for one in the OAD-thesaurus on my mac and it just so happens that gadzooks is a synonym.  So is holy mackerel, ye god, hot damn, and far out.  Come on OAD, have some self-respect!  I clearly need an OED-thesaurus on here instead.

Anyway, more about Fubine!  HOLY MACKEREL!  Today I had a day off so I decided to borrow a bike from Paolo and Anna and see the countryside of Alessandria.  They suggested I take a country road to the comune (or municipality) of Fubine, a few km from here.  Paolo’s instructions were to follow the country road until I see the tower of Fubine, and then follow the road toward the tower.  And boy, he wasn’t kidding.

So off I went.  Turns out the country road is the same one I run on.  And it gets very, very hilly, which is fine and all when you’re running, but when you’re biking you realize your tires are practically just spinning in the gravel.  Phew!  Luckily it was a mountain bike, and not some little road bike like my bumblebee.  Arco, that little brat, followed me about two miles as I enjoyed the sunshine and the crisp fall day.  None of my pictures do it justice, but you can see those amazing Alps in the distance.  What a view!  Another slideshow – too many pictures to add them all individually.  In a lot of the picture you can see the clock tower in the distance, a guiding beacon. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I walked around Fubine for a few hours, taking pictures and exploring.  Everyone was so very lovely and friendly, I finally enjoyed some warm northern Italians.  I had lunch at a little trattoria on the main road, penne al arrabbiata, which is penne with a spicy red sauce.  I think arrabbiata translates to angry, which is pretty funny.  Angry penne.  I suppose it’s because of the pepperoncino in it.  Then, with a belly full of pasta and Moretti brother’s birra, I headed back to Cascina Zerbetta.  I arrived to find Arco safe and sound, napping in his own yard.  I chatted with mom for a bit and then followed suit and took a nap!

When I woke up, I heard guests down stairs, so I popped down to say hello.  It seems I missed a group of golfers by half an hour, but got to me a couple from the area.  They were very sweet and we all had dinner.  Carne ravioli with red sauce and salad.  We had a final harvest from the fig tree so I nommed on them for dessert.  And if my love for figs in the beginning was outrageous, please just imagine my love for figs with fresh Italian gorgonzolla.  YUM!

Anyway, that bike ride exhausted me, I must sleep!  I think tomorrow I’ll take a bike ride into Quargnento to see what it’s all about.

And to end, a quote from Steve Jobs, may he rest in peace.  I feel as though it’s very apropos:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

Truth.

JT

2 thoughts on “Liming in Fubine

  1. I’ve seen that quote popping up quite often in the past few days. Pretty simple advice really. I know you’re living exactly as it advises! I have to say you’re an inspiration to me!

    The pictures are awesome, I feel like I’m there! Keep it up!

  2. Ah…it so wonderfully nice to see my children already know and understand so much about life!
    May you both always follow your hearts and dreams…that’s what makes your life so special!!

    All my love to my diamonds and gold!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

