Nice regional train can sometimes be not-so-nice.


Well, this trip has gone far too smoothly for there not to be one mess up. And that mess up is I decided against going to Monaco-Monte Carlo today since they do not have a luggage storage space for the day. Which led to me not trying to catch an early train to Ventimiglia from Monaco, but to catch the regionale train from Nice to Ventimiglia. I was going to buy my ticket all the way to Bologna, but the line WAS SO LONG I waited 45 minutes before I decided I had better use one of the machines or I was going to miss the train to Ventimiglia. Well the machines only take coins (which I did not have) and credit cards with chips (which I tried to have, but America is annoying sometimes). WHAAAAAAAAT! I quickly ran around and this woman helped me get coins so I could purchase my ticket. I arrived in Ventimiglia with 45 seconds to spare to get a ticket and catch a train to Milan. Yeah, that did not happen. The only thing I can say is that I am glad I did not purchase my tickets ahead of time, like I had originally planned, because I would have been out forty bucks. The line at the biglitteria was so long from people complaining about the train delays and how they missed their connections. And refunds were not being distributed. There is ALWAYS a bright side :). So now I am sitting in a little internet cafe on a desktop computer (so weird, haven’t used one of these since AE) trying to let everyone know I am alive and well, and that they shouldn’t expect to hear from me until tomorrow evening.

AND I wanted to talk about my last day and half in Nice. It was beautiful, again, although I did get rained on. Seriously drenched. And I had more delicious food including red snapper with capers, apple pie, violet gelato from fennochio’s, a biscuit, more socca, a nutella crepe, and some other things I’m sure I am forgetting. It was all very delicious.

I checked out the Matisse and Chagall museums, which were pretty cool. I liked Matisse’s pen and charcoal drawings the most, and one or two of Chagall’s paintings. The Chagall museum included only his religious pieces, in a building designed for this purpose, and Chagall hung the paintings himself, so it was really cool to see how the paintings fit the building. See the pictures πŸ™‚ I took a few of the paintings, even though I think it’s silly to do that. Are you really going to want to see pictures of paintings five years from now? I won’t want to. But I figured you could all see what I was up to yesterday. Then I went to the archaelogical museum, which was OK. It was free, so no big deal, but everything was in French so I had no idea what I was looking at. The Roman ruins (part of the museum) were pretty neat, but nothing compared to the ruins in other places in Italy. So I enjoyed it as a way to kill time, but otherwise, I wouldn’t really recommend it.

I walked back into town and found two different important plants. First, were these weird inkberry things we have in my parents yard back home, that I used to smash all over the place as a kid because they have this beautiful magenta ink stain thing going on. So I took a picture. I would like to know what they are called. Second, were these beautiful little flowers that I think Mer and I saw in the National Arborteum’s Kid’s garden when we were there in the spring. I think Mer said they were her favorite and were all over France, so I had to take a picture.

Afterwards I walked around new Nice and just browsed the shops, etc. I didn’t take a break yesterday, so by 7pm I was beat. I just decided to pick up some more socca and have it with that beer I bought at the monoprix back at the hotel. It was thunderstorming like crazy last night!

Then this morning I walked around the old harbor again and then decided to find one last macaron. It was citron, and it was the best one I had thus far. I mean, really really amazing and delicate and flavorful. I didn’t get a picture, since I hadn’t expected to take any my last morning here.

Then I headed off to the train station and, well, you know what happened from there on. No big deal, really, I just wish I wouldn’t have to wake Kelly up so early tomorrow morning to have her let me in. C’est la vie.

Anyway, here is the gallery!

And now I must go catch my train! Can’t have a repeat of earlier! ALSO, this keyboard is soooooo weird!

Ciao ciao,

JT

One thought on “Nice regional train can sometimes be not-so-nice.

  1. MERRY-GO-ROUND?! Please tell me you went for a ride…that would be awesome. You look so beautiful Jewls! Once again unbelieveable surroundings and yummy food.

    P.S. Crepes rock your socks.

Leave a Reply

