The Central NJ Slow Food Winter Farmer’s Markets


No pictures, no fancy schmancy-ness, and not a lot of waffling (I promise?) but today was amazing.  I helped out with the Winter Farmer’s Market at the D&R Greenway in Princeton and was pleasantly unsurprised to find (or rediscover?) that farmers all over the world are beautiful.  And just as beautiful are their customers, or as I like to call us, their devoted supporters.  It doesn’t matter if you are from down the road or across the world, it is a tight-knit and welcoming group and it was amazing to be a part of that again today.  It was a great reminder of why I left DC for Italy (to pursue my bliss even though I miss all of my DCists very very much) and why I’m continuing to look into every opportunity involving farm fresh, local food.  Volunteering has been the perfect platform for learning new skills, meeting new people, and pursuing happiness.  All the time I find my self with an ear-to-ear grin.  I truly hope the same goes for all of you!

That being said, I can’t wait to continue my volunteer work with Slow Food in Central NJ, the West Windsor Farmer’s markets, and WWOOF!  2012 is going to be another amazing year for new adventures and I’m looking forward to sharing it all with you. And the 12am urges for unhealthy snacks, too :).

Ciao ciao,

JT

2 thoughts on “The Central NJ Slow Food Winter Farmer’s Markets

  1. Ah! Lucky you! All but one of my county’s farmers markets close for the winter, and it’s only open for 2 hours on Saturdays. A bit annoying considering that it’s a 45 minute drive to the other side of the county 😦

  2. I started to write comment efore and I lost it, maybe it will show up somewhere. I mailed the other two letters to Marilyn she called yesterday saying she received them and enjoyed both of them, wasn’t sure she was going to make them until she tried them. Where is this market you spoke of? Is it oin or near RT. 33? Is it like the Columbus famers market? Glad you are enjoying yourself. Take care. Alice

Leave a Reply

